Having a meltdown…..

I’ve not had s good few days in terms of blogging and posting.   I was on the verge of giving up. But just couldn’t click on the ‘delete’ button….

I’m very behind with Blogging 101 assignments, I seem unable to tackle tasks that are out of my comfort zone.   I keep saying to myself that I will catch up with the tasks later, but I know I probably won’t have time to do this, then a new task comes along, and it gets worse….

I’m also not happy with the way my blog looks, I can’t decide on a new theme, and have no idea how to change background colours etc.   Finally, and probably most relevant to my failure, is that I’m not really sure at the moment what me blog is FOR.

There’s a really good new blog called paperclipsandpins   which I am following.  (Hey!  I think I’ve just made my first link!  I wonder if it works!)  She posts something different every day, something that readers want to engage in, or an activity, or poses a question that needs answering.  She’s got 50 followers already!   I’m sure she will turn out to be a world famous blogger one day.  The point is, she hasn’t got an obvious subject for her blog, but posts quite random things which are definitely readable.

Another blog I’ve seen, is more focussed, and just posts book reviews.   Another is just about cooking.  Another is about living with a dog.    So maybe I should just focus on one thing?   I need to think about this…..

I’ll end with a question for you – what’s the most difficult thing you’ve ever tried to learn?  Did you succeed?  I’d love to hear from you!

 

 

 

 

 

44 thoughts on “Having a meltdown…..

  1. Don’t be hard on yourself about the Blogging University stuff. Some people need that day to day assignment, others like the guideline and tips to use down the road.

    The most difficult thing I’ve ever HAD to learn was about Lyme Disease when my whole family was diagnosed and we had to start treatment. Being sick and having to learn about a disease really sucks.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Don’t let it get you down. I’ve been blogging for a few months, and started out with camping as my niche. Now I’m posting about my family and my marrriage, so I can’t really say I have one topic. If it makes you feel any better, I’ve been procrastinating on figuring out menus for my blog so I can sort the crap out, but last time I tried it out, it was a dismal failure. I have access to the help page on this subject, and it’s like reading Greek. It’s not just you, my friend. We all struggle with something, and it is totally OKAY if your blog evolves into different things! You’re settling… and that’s normal! 🙂 Best of luck!

    Like

  3. My current blog is my fifth, and I promised myself final, attempt at blogging. With the other four I felt exactly as you did. In retrospect they were too focused and therefore didn’t allow me to show my true self.
    For the current blog I didn’t get followers for a bit but slowly people started visiting and before I knew it I had blog friends!
    This is my second time doing blogging u because the first time I got overwhelmed and had to stop. I think it’s important for us to honour our own journey.Do what works for you. This is your adventure and we’re along for the ride.
    The most difficult thing I’m learning is to say NO. I regularly bite off more than I can chew and find myself choking. 2016 is going to be the year of No, so far it’s been hit and miss.

    Like

    • Thanks for your support. I do like writing and having s blog, and yes, I have lots of stories to tell when I can conquer WordPress! So I’ll keep going and grateful for people like you for making comments, st least I know people are seeing my blog and it isn’t hanging there in cyberspace…..

      Like

  4. Looks like you’re off to a good start! I’m a lapsed blogger myself, so this year will be a bit of an uphill struggle, but with the help of Blogging101 and some of the excellent suggestions from folks all over the world, I might just get there. Keep blogging!

    Like

    • Hi, when I click on your link I get a small image of new blog but can’t open it. I’ll try again. Thanks for thinking of me! I like writing and am determined to get s good blog going, so I’ll keep going at my own pace. I find the Blogging101 goes rather quickly and no time to consolidate your knowledge.

      Like

  5. At last I seem to have found a kindred spirit. I got as far as day 3. Could not find anything that really switched me on as I love reading the blogs on Fine Art Studio Online. I do not know what a widget is, or what to do with it when I get one. I find that there are just too many instructions, being well over the 3 score years and 10, maybe I am just too old and stupid to understand what they are talking about. I have done 3 blogs and I am sure that not one single person has ever read them. So What Now?
    I am glad that I have cottoned on to you, hope you get somewhere , I think I will throw in the towel.

    Like

    • Hi!
      Thanks for your kind reply! Don’t give up, let’s do this together! A kindred spirit indeed. I thought I was the only person not to know what s widget is, or a URL, and what is RSS feed or a hyperlink? We’ll get there in the end. Great idea for a blog – helping oldies with WordPress! I really want to have a blog, I like writing, but as other people have kindly said, no need to rush it, you can always undo and change things later. Someone suggested making it private so only you can see it while,you tinker with it and change the appears certain etc. I know how to make it private, that’s one thing I have recently learnt!
      So hang in there, let’s crack this…

      Like

      • So glad to get your reply. I thought that my comment had disappeared into the ether like so many things on the computer. JUST VANISH. I wish I knew what the link thing is about. Luckily I bookmarked your blog or else I would never have found it again. I think there is not point in making a blog private, when the aim is to get it out there. Maybe I don’t understand what it is all about. Go for it fandancer. I like your name, Do you do it? Fan dancing I mean.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Not that I’ve been at this for long but you know why you started this journey. Let it work for you. Don’t get overwhelmed by others. ..you have no idea what compelled them to start blogging or their circumstances. This should be fun not stressful!

    Like

    • Thanks for your support, I appreciate your reply, and that of other bloggers who have made comments, st least I know people can see my blog and it’s not hanging there in cyberspace! I have started about five blogs previously, which I gave up on, but as you say, maybe everyone goes through this process in the beginning…. I’ll keep at it.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hi! Thanks for your comment, I appreciate you taking the time to reply. Don’t give up! We can exchange hints and tips ourselves, I find the instructions and language difficult – what’s s hyperlink, s widget, a RSS feed? They assume you know lots of stuff beforehand! But I really like writing and want to have s blog, so let’s just take it slowly. Other people have advised me to make my blog private for a short while (I do know how to do this) while you tinker with it. And just to take things very slowly, go st your own pace and experiment. Good luck to you!

      Like

  7. Hello! I’m pleased you decided to stick around, and I look forward to following your stories. In terms of the most difficult thing I have done, well I think it was learning to forgive when I had been badly hurt. It took a long time before I could really get out of my own head and learn to see the world from someone else’s perspective. I think it was good in the long run, but it was so hard to do. Even now, sometimes, it still hurts.

    Like

    • Hi, thanks for your kind comments and for taking the time to reply. There are some supportive people out there. They have suggested that I just take things slowly, I find the Blogging 101 tasks a bit overwhelming and there is not enough time to practice or consolidate one task before the next comes along! I’m sorry to hear you have been hurt in the past, time is s great healer. Good luck with your blogging

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m glad you’re sticking with it, and I look forward to reading more from you! 🙂 Don’t be afraid to only tackle a task or two from Blogging 101 and just skip the rest while you’re getting comfortable with that task or tasks. You can always sign up again .. This is my second time in the course. Enjoy your journey!

    Like

  9. I love your theme, it’s nice and clean.

    However, to change your background color do this: On the upper left of your screen go to 1) My Sites 2) Customize 3) Color and Background 4) Pick your color 5) Normally there are suggested colors and also some background patterns but you can also set your own color by using slider 6) Click done, Save and Publish. Note: Your cursor needs to be in the square where your current color is for the “Change” button to appear.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi! Thank you so much for your help! I’m getting braver at experimenting and playing with different settings. It’s all trial and error, isn’t it.

      Like

  10. I know it’s been said already, but I think it’s a good affirmation to hear more than once — this blog is all yours and no one else’s. Don’t compare yours to those that have been around longer. Keep doing what you’re doing. Play with different things everyday if that’s what it takes. Eventually, you’ll be able to pinpoint what this blog is about, and you can run with it then. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Blogging is about you not a specific subject. I love your blog and your life style. When you draw a blank look at the sky where you are berthed, ask you cat and look at the people around you. If you do you will have more to write about than you have time for. Trust me a focused blog like mine is much harder to write. If you look you will notice that I and most topic blogger write off topic frequently. Thar is the beauty of blogging. Ask and the spirit will move you.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Georgie,
    My answer to the above is, who cares? Who cares if your theme is the best it could be, if you have enough widgets, or if you’ve done your homework? You’re not selling anything, you’re enjoying yourself and making friends. And you make friends by having interesting content, and going on other people’s blogs like you’ve done with mine. Even if you write once a month, we’re still happy to read about your adventures, grandkids, cat or boat. If it becomes a drag, you’ll give up for sure. Just enjoy, and see where it takes you.
    One thing I have learnt, is that all the answers are there online. I used to call tech support (my son) every two minutes, until I discovered, o miracle, that all you need to do is type a simple question (‘what’s a widget?’) and you’re bound to find an answer that’s simple enough for anyone. So now I have escaped his sneering down his nose at me. Plus, he doesn’t have a blog!
    One thing I have failed to learn, is how to do cryptic crosswords! I’m so jealous – I just can’t seem to get it. I just do the easy ones. Oh well…
    To finish on a funny note, I once checked out the blog of someone who followed me. She was about 18, all her posts were about…nothing- (‘I love velvet’) – and she had 1537 followers to my, at the time, 37!!! I laughed so much. But I’ve decided I want to build up my following slowly, one by one, with people who write things that interest me.
    Enough chatter. Enjoy, and I for one, will keep reading. X Marina

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Marina
      How kind you are to take time to reply to my general moans! It just takes a nice comment like this to keep me going for the next month. You ask who cares if I don’t have enough widgets, or a nice looking theme – well, I do, as I don’t like to fail. I still havent mastered what a blogroll is, but I have learnt not to compare myself with others. Since doing the blogging 101 course, I have been pleased with the number of people who have bothered to follow me, but I wonder how many of them are still blogging? I wouldn’t be surprised if the drop out rate is high. This has been my third time of trying to set up a blog (hence the name!) and thanks to other bloggers, like you, I have managed to keep going for longer than I have before. I like writing so I’ll keep it up!
      Have a good week….
      Georgie

      Liked by 1 person

Please comment....

