Sewing on Sunday

I came across this daily prompt by accident!

Sunday Sampler is a weekly prompt where we can showcase any arts or crafts we are producing.  I thought I would post something, as it might allow me to meet a different set of bloggers who are out there – involved in sewing, crafts, patchwork.

My latest sewn fabric basket is made out of grey and white fabric, with a thick lining, and is a little larger than previous ones I have made. This one is going to be a present for a friend who is expecting a baby any day now – I will put some small gifts inside, maybe baby toiletries, or a gift for the mum.

image

I am currently living in the UK over the winter, but in April we will be returning to our yacht in Greece.  We live aboard over the summer months, until October.   So at the moment I have no real boat-related tales to tell; I have been spending time with my friends, family and grandchildren.   I have also started sewing again, after a long gap.   I love searching craft and material shops for pieces of fabric, remnants, ribbons, anything that might be useful.

  I have found lots of ideas for sewing on Pinterest.  I love making toys and little objects for my grandchildren – everything from a Batman outfit and a nurse’s uniform, to a crayon roll, a shoulder bag, a squidgy toy fish, a rag doll and a ribbon taggie for a baby.  I also like making  little fabric baskets to give as presents, usually filled with home made fudge.

image

I love making cushions – the first ones I made were memory cushions made out of pieces of grandchildren’s outgrown clothing.   I’m also making some new cushion covers to take back to our boat.

I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone else is making!

 

9 thoughts on “Sewing on Sunday

  1. I am sure some people do think I am in Greece! We are originally from the Portsmouth area, since 1986, my children went to school in Horndean and we both worked at South Downs College near Havant. I own a rental property in Romsey but can’t live there, so the last three years we have left the boat in Greece and rented somewhere else back to Hampshire so I can see my children and young grandchildren over the winter. In 2013-14 we rented on the IOW, (too difficult to travel to mainland), in 2014-15 we had a winter holiday barn in Finchdean (too remote in countryside) and now we are here in Rowlands Castle which is just perfect, lovely village, my daughter and grandsons within walking distance. Unfortunately we couldn’t keep our cat with us – we brought her back from Greece again with us, but she has had to go on holiday elsewhere….but that’s another story!

    Like

Please comment....

