Hugh’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Week 16 – “Behind”

I always enjoy a photo challenge, and after my success last week when I had my photo chosen to be showcased – see my entry here, I am having another go this week.  The topic is “Behind”.  Here is my photo….

image

This photo was taken on the island of Syros, in the capital town of Ermoupolis. The wonderful blue domed building behind the palm tree and vibrant pink bougainvillea is the Greek Orthodox Church of the Assumption, also known as Anastasis church. It was built on top of Vrodado Hill in 1870 in the Byzantine style. From the top, there are amazing views of the islands of Tinos and Mykonos.

Ermoupolis is also the capital of the whole of the Cyclades island group. Syros is located approximately 78 nautical miles SE of Athens, it covers about 32 square miles and there are around 25,000 inhabitants. I lived on Syros for six months over the winter of 2012-13, when we had our yacht out of the water in a boatyard here.

Syros is an interesting island in terms of religion – in the whole of Greece, the majority of people are Greek Orthodox (95%), with the small remainder being Roman Catholic, but on Syros it is said that the split between Catholics and Orthodox is 50%/50%. The Roman Catholic church of Syros is situated on the other hill behind the town, so when you approach from the sea, you get an amazing view of the harbour with the two hills behind.

image
Here is a good website which tells you more about this wonderful island.

9 thoughts on “Hugh’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Week 16 – “Behind”

  1. Thank you very much. I really like taking photographs. I don’t use all the settings on my camera and I’m sure it can do a lot more than I know. But I think I have quite a good eye and like looking for unusual angles,

    Liked by 2 people

Please comment....

