Fifteen fabulous facts for Friday…

While browsing the Internet during a procrastinating half hour, I came across various facts which fascinated me, so I thought I’d share them….

The word “facetiously” contains all 5 vowels and “y” in alphabetical order.
Cats sleep for 70% of their lives.
The Statue of Liberty’s index finger is eight feet long.
The Boeing 747 wing span is longer than the first flight ever made by the Wright Brothers’ airplane.
One type of hummingbird weighs less than a penny.

image
Sharks can live up to 100 years.

Fingernails grow nearly 4 times faster than toenails.

Kangaroos can’t walk backwards.
There are 200 million insects on earth for every one human.
It takes more calories to eat a stick of celery than the celery contains.
Bill Clinton only sent two emails in his entire 8 year presidency.
An octopus has three hearts.
A blue whale’s tongue weighs more than an elephant.
250 people have fallen off the Leaning Tower of Pisa.
Bamboo can grow up to three feet in 24 hours.

7 thoughts on “Fifteen fabulous facts for Friday…

  1. Thanks for reading! Wow! You sre going to have some big changes ahead! Are you going to be sailing anywhere, or just living on the boat? The main thing I would say is to make sure you have things around you that make you comfortable and happy. For me, it’s a very comfy bed! I might write a blog post on this, thanks for the idea! We could meet up, I’m in Hampshire near Emsworth.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just jumping in with no boat specific advice whatsoever (because I´m like that)…I spent two winters in an RV and I agree whole-heartedly about the bed. By the end of the second winter, my back was killing me, but I knew the time was coming to an end, so I just put up with it. Knowing then, what I know now, I would have spent the money for a better mattress up front.

    The other is to suggest a website you might both enjoy. A couple of Americans who have been living in an RV for several years, but are now in the process of buying a boat and making the switch. They do fantastic videos with tips and tricks as they learn along their travels. Really well done. I learned a lot from them for life in an RV. I´m sure the boating chapter of their adventure will be fun to watch, as well.

    http://www.gonewiththewynns.com/

    Fun post, Georgie – and, boy, do I know about procrastination!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks Leah! I will certainly look at this site you recommend. I think I need to write more boaty stuff on my blog, as that is what I started it for, really. But as we are currently back in the UK, I am just writing random posts to while away the time before we return to Greece. I think I will resurrect some posts I wrote on another site called Sailblogs, a couple of years ago.

    Like

  4. Great collection of facts. I do like interesting facts and try to squirrel them away to use in the future- usually when I’ve been talked into being on someone’s quiz team. I’ll be storing one or two of these away. Marie

    Like

Please comment....

