Amusing boat names….

Boat names always fascinate me.   Some are named after family members or loved ones, such as ‘Sally Ruth’, ‘Anabelle’ or ‘Saucy Sue’ .

A lot of names have aquatic connections, like ‘Waterbird’, ‘Seaspray’, ‘White Wave’, ‘Aquaholic’, ‘Pier Pressure’, Knot Tied Down’.

Some try to be clever, or use a play on words, like ‘Afrayed Knot’, or ‘Water To Do’,  ‘Tide Together’, ‘Seas the Day’.    I’ve seen several called  ‘She Got the House’.

British boat names tend to be quite conservative, although my husband tells me there was a boat in the Solent called Hoof R Ted….

USA boat names are often more ostentatious.   Look at these ones I found online…

Moor Often Than Knot

Time2Spare

The Codfather

Here Lil’ Fishy

Sex Sea

Knot For Sail

Eggs Ta Sea

Knot Tied Down

Seaductress

Holy Mackerel

I had a walk around the boatyard where our yacht our yacht Fandancer is kept over the winter, I took some photos of boat names and logos….

image

Our yacht, Fandancer

image

An old Dutch boat

image

Colourful flying gulls

image

Tri-sails and an eye..

image

Footloose – and fancy free?

image

Dolphin or porpoise?

image

Delusions of royalty?

image

I think Beluga is a whale?

image

Named after the owner?

image

Probably not a relative?

image

A play on words….

image

Seen on a catamaran…

image

Someone’s home?

image

Fierce red shark logo…

image

Boats all in a row…..

 

 

 

image

My daughter’s name….

What’s the strangest boat name you know of?

5 thoughts on “Amusing boat names….

  1. Believe me, some are very cringeworthy and I dare not publish them here for fear of causing offence, but if you google unusual boat names, you will find some!

    Like

  2. Thanks for looking. I’m always looking out for amusing boat names. Don’t forget, you sometimes have to say your boat name on the ship’s radio, and people also call you by boat name on the radio. I think some people think of amusing names just for this reason – eg: imagine the coastguard calling you if you boat was Hoof R Ted ……

    Like

Please comment....

