Silver grey…..(like my hair).

 

I’ve found the Crayola challenge quite fascinating.  Who can remember having a box of these delicious crayons when they were young?   There are 120 different colours, and each day of the challenge, a different colour is chosen.

Today, the colour is SILVER.

image

Crayola crayon colour names rarely change. However, there are exceptions. In 1958, Prussian blue was changed to midnight blue in response to teacher recommendations that children could no longer relate to Prussian history. In 1962, the colour flesh was changed to peach recognizing that not everyone’s flesh is the same shade.

In the world of Crayola crayons, the colour silver may not be your favourite.  After a bit of research, this does not appear to mean the metallic silver, but instead the flat grey colour.   It is actually a mixture of red, green and blue, and is sometimes called orange-grey.

I looked for some of my  photos to represent Crayola silver, and I found these….

image

Seagull with silver wing feathers 

image

Silver coloured ash and objects around a fireplace

 

image

Silver grey wood on an old mill building

I enjoyed finding these photos, I hope you found this interesting, too.

5 thoughts on “Silver grey…..(like my hair).

  1. I just realised what the Crayola challenge is about – is it too late to sign up d’you think? And I love that old building, although I wouldn’t like to peek out of that window 😀

    Like

    • Definitely not too late to join in! I’ve only been doing it for a short while, usually if I have appropriate photos. It’s just interesting to look at the list of colours, and see what’s coming up.

      Like

Please comment....

