Banana and walnut loaf.

I’m trying to use up ingredients in my kitchen, as in less than seven weeks we will be back on our boat in Greece.    I accidentally bought another bag of self-raising flour the other day, despite already having one in the cupboard – doh!    I also found lots of spices, dried fruits,  not to mention many duplicated tinned goods…..

Today’s culinary attempt is a banana and walnut loaf.  When bananas start turning even slightly bright yellow, I cannot eat them, they are too overdone for me!   But they are fine to use in cooking.

image

Which banana would you prefer to eat?

On the picture above, I would definitely choose number three for eating, and could be tempted by a 4, but 5 I would only eat in an emergency – eg, when I hadn’t eaten for a while. Number 7 makes me cringe!

To make the cake:

Ingredients (sorry, I don’t know the equivalent in ounces, and I don’t do cups!)

250g self-raising flour sifted
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
150g golden or white caster sugar
50g walnuts chopped
125g butter softened
1 pinch salt
2 eggs
Approx 450g ripe bananas, I used two large ones.

Method
Heat the oven to 180C/Gas Mark 4. Lightly butter a 25cm x 10cm loaf tin.
Mash the bananas to a purée.
Cream butter and sugar with an electric beater until smooth and pale.
Add the eggs one at a time, beating well until just combined.

Fold in bananas, vanilla and walnuts.
Lightly fold in flour and salt, and spoon into tin.
Bake for 1 hour or until a skewer comes out clean.  Check after 45 minutes.

Allow to cool in the tin for 20 minutes before tuning out.

image

 Chop 50g walnuts

 

image

Easier if you use a mixer

 

image

Heat the oven to 180C/Gas Mark 4. Lightly butter a 25cm x 10cm loaf tin.

 

image

Crack eggs separately and add to sugar and butter mixture

image

Mash the ripe bananas

image

Tip the mixture into a loaf tin and level the top

image

Cook for 45 mins to 1 hour, depending on oven.

This is a delicious treat to have with a cup of tea!

4 thoughts on “Banana and walnut loaf.

Please comment....

