Blessed are the Weird People…..Musing Mondays!

After reading today’s post from Running in my Head, I followed up a link provided by Jay to a book blog written by Jenn, called Books and a Beat.  This is a great blog for anyone who likes reading, or words of any sort.  I loved this quote she has put on her blog –

image

According to Goodreads,  this is a quote attributed to Jacob Nordby.

On her book blog, Jenn offers two weekly book “memes” (events): Musing Mondays and the ever-popular Teaser Tuesdays.   I thought I would join in this week….

For Musing Mondays, you are invited to choose one of her prompts to answer, as well as the random question.

Here are my answers –

Up next I think I’ll read – ‘Depraved Heart’ – the latest paperback novel by bestselling author Patricia Cornwell, who delivers the twenty-third engrossing thriller in her high-stakes series starring medical examiner Dr. Kay Scarpetta.   I’ve read all the previous books by Patricia Cornwell, but admit that I preferred the earlier ones.  I’m hoping that in this new novel, she will be back to her previous form, as I thought that her recent one, ‘Dust’ was very disappointing.  I like these books as they have the same four characters in all the books, although you don’t have to read them in order to enjoy them.

image

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Name a favorite book you’d take to the beach.

When I take a book to the beach, I wouldn’t take a favourite, which implies I’ve already read it, I would take a brand new book.  One book which I recently read on holiday, which makes a very good beach read, was “The Sunrise” by Victoria Hislop.  Here’s the story summary which I found on GoodReads….

In the summer of 1972, Famagusta in Cyprus is the most desirable resort in the Mediterranean, a city bathed in the glow of good fortune. An ambitious couple are about to open the island’s most spectacular hotel, where Greek and Turkish Cypriots work in harmony. Two neighbouring families, the Georgious and the Özkans, are among many who moved to Famagusta to escape the years of unrest and ethnic violence elsewhere on the island. But beneath the city’s façade of glamour and success, tension is building.

When a Greek coup plunges the island into chaos, Cyprus faces a disastrous conflict. Turkey invades to protect the Turkish Cypriot minority, and Famagusta is shelled. Forty thousand people seize their most precious possessions and flee from the advancing soldiers. In the deserted city, just two families remain. This is their story. 

image

I chose this book as I used to live in Cyprus and remember Famagusta before the troubles. A good story with believable characters, and which describes the local people and struggles between Turks and Greeks very well. It didn’t really have a happy ending though….

 

2 thoughts on “Blessed are the Weird People…..Musing Mondays!

Please comment....

