Day out in Salisbury….

Yesterday I had a day out, by myself. I caught the train from Romsey to Salisbury, which took less than 20 minutes…….

Salisbury is a medieval cathedral city in the southern English county of Wiltshire. It’s 9 miles south of the iconic prehistoric stone circle at Stonehenge, which stands on the grassland of Salisbury Plain. The city’s ornate 13th-century cathedral has a 123m spire, a working 14th-century clock and an original copy of the Magna Carta (the Great Charter), a key document from 1215 A.D. There were quite a lot of foreign tourists waiting for the bus to take them to Stonehenge.

image

 

If you’ve never been to Stonehenge I would tell you not to bother – yes, it’s sort of impressive, but it’s basically a circle of giant stones, and you can’t even get anywhere close to them, you have to look from afar …… and you have to pay money!

imageimage

The walk from Salisbury station into the town centre wasn’t very impressive, with some scruffy shops, some takeaway restaurants, barber shops, junk shops. The first part of the main town was rather disappointing too, with shopping arcades with the usual chain stores. But there was a nice area by the river, lots of green space, and a big market square. I think I must have missed some of the old, narrow picturesque streets and buildings, but eventually I found the south end of the High Street, which led to the cathedral…..

image

Lovely window display

image

Another fabulous window….

Finally my breath was taken away! What an amazing view! The cathedral and the surrounding area was just fabulous. Definitely worth the wait. After walking around the green and looking at the wonderful houses, I reached the main door of the cathedral, and a bridal party were just coming out, what a fabulous location for a wedding.

image

The amazing exterior of the cathedral, and a sculpture….

image

The bride was called Hermione…..

I didn’t pay the fee to enter the main cathedral, I thought I would wait until Tim was back in England and we could visit together. But you could walk around the beautiful cloisters for free, and also see the Magna Carta exhibition. Pride of place was a small closed tent-like structure where they were displaying four actual pages from this famous 13th century document, kept out of the light to protect it. I didn’t join the queue to see it, as looking at an ancient document written in Latin, in the dark, wasn’t really my thing…. But the rest of the exhibition was interesting.

image

The story of the Magna Carta

image

Wonderful architecture in the cathedral

Before I went back for the train, I found an amazing sculpture in the gardens, made up of glittery bits of glass, I loved it. It was part of an exhibition currently displayed at the cathedral.  I hope enjoyed my photos of my day!

image

Part of ‘Launch’ designed by Rebecca Newnham

5 thoughts on “Day out in Salisbury….

  1. Thank you for a visit to Salisbury as I am sure we will never get there now. So interesting. I loved your comment on Stonehenge. So true. Here in this country all the interesting things are also only possible to view if you pay. Keep traveling. Love your blogs.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. In the late 1970s I always wanted to visit Salisbury as I had heard that there was a Country Casuals shop there, which was my favourite shop at the time. Still haven’t been into the town. Been to the racecourse lots though!

    Like

Please comment....

