What is a Liebster Award …..?

I had a nice surprise this morning, when I found that Carol from Art Is Not For Sissies, had nominated me for a Liebster Award!   Or should that be Lobster Award, as my spellcheck keeps telling me…….?   Thank you very much, Carol!  Do check out her lovely blog, which contains lots of fabulous artwork, and cats, what could be better!

image

 

The Liebster Award 2016 is an award that exists only on the internet, and is given to new bloggers by other bloggers. Read on to see if you’ve been nominated, or why not nominate someone yourself?…..I read that Liebster in German means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome.  As I am none of those things, I can only guess that I was nominated for my blog content, and my photography!

Here are the rules –

Write a blogpost about your nomination, displaying an image of the award.
Thank the person who nominated you and include a link to their blog.
Answer the 11 questions the person who nominated you asked you in his/her blogpost.
Nominate 5-11 other starting bloggers who you think deserve this award, and come up with 11 questions of your own for them to answer.
List these rules in your blogpost.

Here are my answers to my given questions…

What motivated you to start blogging – why do you blog?   I just like writing!  I have lots of words inside my head that have to be released.  I’m not a great talker, I prefer to put things down in words.  I started off wanting to tell people about my life on a boat, then I found myself rambling about other rsndom things.   I wish I had more of a focus, really.

image

Who or what inspires you to write or create?   Difficult question!  Just things around me, really.  I might write about something I’ve heard on the news, or a place I’ve been to, or something that someone said to me, or things I’ve noticed in my surroundings.

What is one interesting thing that happened to you this summer?   Goodness, these are difficult questions!  Although I’m back in the UK for a brief visit, I live with my husband on our yacht Fandancer in Greece.  This summer we have tried to visit some different places we haven’t been to before.  One fascinating  trip was when we took our yacht up the River Acheron. Read my blog post here.

image

Do you have any pets? How many? What are their names?  We have a boat cat called Artemis, who we rescued as a kitten over two years ago.  She has lived happily on board eith us, and also travelled back to England a few times. At the moment she is staying with friends in Essex, who may keep her permanently.

What is your favorite season of the year? Why?  Well, clearly it has to be summer.  I love the sunshine!  I could never live in a cold country, or where there was snow.

If you could hop into a reliable time machine, where/when would you go? Why?  I’ve always been fascinated by Victorian England, around the 1870s, they had so many new inventions, architecture, famous people, I’d like to be there.

Tell us about your office or studio.  Office or studio?  Hahaha!  Neither us possible on a boat.  I just sit on the deck with my iPad.

Books or movies? If you had to choose one over the other.  I prefer books, as you can dip in and out of them when you like, and return to them over and over again.

Tell us about your best post, in your opinion, and a link to it.    Hmmmmm – I’ll have to look that up!  One post which had quite a few views was the one I wrote about the Greek island of Hydra, one of our favourite places. Read about it here.

Advice you have for anyone who might want to start blogging.  Just have a go, keep things simple, ask for help if you need it, there is a huge blogging community out there, who will give you support and advice.

image

As I have gratefully accepted this kind award, I would now like to pass it on to some more deserving bloggers.  I know sometimes bloggers don’t like receiving awards, and claim to have an award-free site, so whether you accept it is up to you.

Here’s my list of blogs I currently like….

Beeorganizedwithpamela – fabulous info on how to organise your life
Running in my Head  – amusing insights from the teaching world and other hilarious comments
Southampton Old Lady – a lovely blog from a local lady, lots of useful info and great photos
The Peasant Blog – witty one liners, jokes, short and sweet, I love it.
 Love Travelling– lovely travel blog from interesting places
Psychomother– humorous at times, insights into family life
Note from Abroad – a great travel blog, touring Europe

Nominated bloggers, here are your 10 questions:

What is your earliest memory?
what is the furthest you have travelled?
Can tell me a joke?
can you drive, what do you drive?
what other passions do you have beside blogging?
do you have a phobia?
how much time do you spend online in a typical week?
what was the first thing you ate this morning?
do you prefer the cold or the heat?
Who would be your ideal dinner party guest?

 

2 thoughts on “What is a Liebster Award …..?

Please comment....

