Where in the World are we?

I didn’t get off the boat while we were anchored in San Stefanos, as I was still feeling unwell with flu-like symptoms. But I’m made of sterner stuff, it takes a lot to knock me down, and have now made a good recovery. We sailed south (or rather, that should be motored – the sails stayed put due to lack of wind), and we arrived In Petriti around lunchtime.

image

Yachts in the harbour, Petriti

Unless you have a boat, I guess you won’t have heard of Petriti, on Corfu. You certainly won’t find it in any holiday brochures, and travel agents won’t know where it is. A similar thing happened to me many years ago, approximately 2003, when I booked a very last minute holiday to Parga, on the Greek mainland. Those were the days when online booking was still a new thing, so I popped into the local travel agents on a Thursday, and enquired about a bargain offer advertised in their window for a fortnight in the Greek sunshine, leaving on Sunday.

image

Parga seafront

“So where exactly is this place called Parga, then?” I asked the fifteen year old behind the desk with two inch long talons and a vacant expression.

“Dunno exactly” she replied, still filing her nails. “I think it’s a Greek island.”

“Could you check exactly where it is, please?” I asked her.

“Does anyone know where Parga is?” – she raised her voice and enquired of others in the office. They pretended not to hear, shook their heads, or busied themselves with other work.

“Nah, sorry. The boss is out the back having his lunch. He knows Greek islands. I’ll get him for you.”

A sixteen year old youth appeared. “You want to go to Parga, madam? Very nice place”.

“Yes, but where exactly is it? It would be nice to know where I’m going” I said to him.

“It says here that you fly to Preveza, so it must be an island near to there” he said triumphantly, as if the mystery had been solved. I stared at him, willing him to give me more information. He got out an atlas and traced his finger around the airport region. He couldn’t find Parga.

image

View of beach from Parga castle

 

“Do you want to book it?” The fifteen year old with red talons enquired. “There’s only a few rooms left on that holiday.”

“And do any of my fellow passengers know exactly where they are going to, or is it a mystery tour?” I sarcastically commented.

“Well it’s Greece, innit” she replied……

I went home, found exactly where Parga was, and booked it myself. Parga is not an island, it’s a holiday resort on the Greek mainland, approximately 30 miles north of the airport, 13 miles SE of the tip of Corfu, and almost directly east of Paxos. I had a very nice holiday by myself that year, and wondered if I should change my career and be a travel agent……

4 thoughts on “Where in the World are we?

Please comment....

