Only five more sleeps in Greece…a list of what I’ve missed.

Our summer of living on our yacht in Greece is coming to an end.  We must now do lots of boat jobs and head back to the boatyard for the winter.    As the weather has been glorious in Greece this week, I’ll be sad to leave, but I’m also looking forward to lots of things back in England.

Here’s an alphabet of things I’m looking forward to….

Armchair – I can’t wait to sit somewhere really comfy.

90143K7E

My sitting room

Bath – deep and very hot, with lovely smelling bubbles

Clothes that are smart, regularly washed and ironed.

48B70A5C-BFA7-42AD-B2DC-1C7F26760442

Dishwasher to make my cutlery and coffee mugs all sparkling.

Electric sockets to plug in hair drier, radio, slow cooker, computer, iron etc

Flushing toilet – not those dreadful boat ones that need pumping…

Garden – to walk round, even if it is tiny and full of weeds.

88CFA0D5-B890-4921-9FC8-5963B96FEF89

A corner of my garden

Hairdresser – to make me human, and less of a boat gypsy.

Iron – I’m one of those strange people who likes to iron everything, even tea towels….

Jeans – to wear in the winter.

Kitchen equipment such as quality knives, new chopping board, tea towels, serving dishes and nice glasses.

90143K74

One side of my kitchen

Languishing in the bath again….

Magazines of any sort, to flick through while I’m having a bath…

9756FC6C-A1F9-4609-B46F-74E23614E248

Nail varnish – I desperately need a manicure and pedicure after being on the boat.

Oven baked chips. We do not call them French fries!  Mmmmmm. With lots of vinegar and salt.

Porridge in the morning for breakfast when it’s cold.

Quality Street sweets – a sign that Christmas is approaching. We never call them candy!

52594EE6-27E3-4F24-8509-7C8ADE0C55FB

Radio – I love the radio on in the background all the time when I’m at home.

Sausages and mash with proper gravy.

7CA19086-747C-4670-885D-B3D4957D4A78

Television – I love all TV, especially Strictly Come Dancing, TV dramas, cookery shows, house renovation shows, chat shows, morning shows. I’ll watch anything….

Underwear that doesn’t have to be washed in a bucket….

Vase of flowers on the table.

EFB4BEE1-0A4B-401B-83CC-E57533F5F69E

Waitrose supermarket – my favourite shop where I can stock up with goodies.

X – eXtra time to play with my lovely grandchildren.

Yet more time to meet up with friends and family.

Zzzzzzzz – sleeping in a proper bed with clean linen.

90143K7L

What things do you miss when you are away from home?

12 thoughts on “Only five more sleeps in Greece…a list of what I’ve missed.

    • Interesting question! I’m afraid it is not equal. I miss my home and being in the UK much more than I miss living on th3 boat, although I do crave the sunshine and nice weather. You will never catch me saying – “I can’t wait to wash my knickers in a bucket…”

      Like

Please comment....

