In which a seacock fails to do it’s job, but washing gets done….

Today was a very stressful day for me, I think as I get older I have developed OCD and cannot stand mess or things out of place. We motored the few miles from Vonitsa to the boatyard pontoon, stopping for fuel on the way, as its best to leave the diesel tank full, to prevent diesel bug growth invading the fuel.

As soon as we arrived, I went round the boat collecting anything that could be washed. There is a very good washing machine here, although it is rather expensive at five euros a load. I stripped the beds – in our cabin we have two almost triangular shaped mattresses with a fitted sheet and pillows on each. I collected all the towels including beach towels, hand towels, kitchen drying cloths. In another bag I had seven Greek rugs – rustic, woven things that we use to cover the cockpit seating, and on the floor in the saloon. I also washed two blankets/throws. Then later, I did another load of our own clothes.

So I had five loads in all! I hung it all out to dry on lines strung up on deck – such a treat not to have to spend hours washing things in a bucket. Tim doesn’t see the attraction of a washing machine, and he doesn’t understand why I waste money when we have perfectly good buckets on board……. I’m not going to enter this ongoing debate, but needless to say, I prefer not to wash my knickers in a bucket if I don’t have to…..

After a nice beer and meze lunch in the sunshine, more boat items were pulled out of lockers. Tim wanted to change he the engine oil, replace the oil filter etc, so empty oil pots had to be located. During a loo break, he discovered running water, and for five minutes there was a genuine nautical emergency with all hands on deck – e.g. me, who had to start the engine and hook the hose from the electric bilge pump over the side. The bilges were several inches deep in sea water! While Tim was inspecting the rogue seacock, it disintegrated further, and several blasphemous words turned the air blue while he hammered a wooden bung into the gaping hole. Finally the water stopped coming in, and the bilge pump did it’s job. A good job that didn’t happen at sea, miles from land!

I am currently sitting in the cockpit, and I daren’t move otherwise my place will be filled with some item from a locker. I can see a huge pile of ropes, five buckets, two hose pipes, three pots of oil. A dinghy cover, two tarpaulin-type covers for the boat which we need for tomorrow. And a partridge in a pear tree…… down below in saloon, three huge sail bags like overweight wrestlers, are sitting on one of the seats, while luggage retrieved from another locker covers the floor. Tim is in the engine compartment, blocking off my access to my cabin so I can’t retreat in there. Anyway, the bed isn’t made, and the mattresses are out of place for access to the under bunk storage.

I can’t handle this any more. I need things to be organised, put away, tidied up. It’s horrible. I can’t see how the boat will be ready to leave in its present state, but I know everything will get done. Tonight is our last night afloat. Tomorrow we have to stay aboard the boat out of the water in the boatyard, which I detest very much. Partly it’s the thought of a 12 ton boat being propped up on a metal cradle, the access by a horrible 16 rung ladder, and worst of all the loo will be out of action!

I’m dreading the upcoming emergency bucket arrangement tomorrow night……

5 thoughts on “In which a seacock fails to do it’s job, but washing gets done….

  1. Hang in there, it’s only the one night! Although, the older I get, the less I enjoy ‘camping’ as I call it. And I used to be so adventurous (sigh). Also, I think you should put your foot down re the washing machine-I even had one in my lorry when I used to go around showjumping. You could promise only to use it in port when you have access to fresh water…

    Like

  2. You have my sympathy too! It’s a bit like this house. Hubby seems to invade the spare room all the time with clothes etc, and the garage, well we won’t go there! 🙂

    Like

Please comment....

