Share Your World – apple pie, a mini car and a blue bicycle.

This week, the questions for Share Your World were once again set by children, and what good questions they are!

Do you believe in love at first sight?

Well, I’m not sure if it is actual love at that first eyeful, but I do think there may be some form of strong initial attraction.   This was certainly true the very first time I ever set eyes on my lovely husband.

Your first car?

img_6604

My first car was a Morris Mini 650. My father paid £60 for it, in 1972, just after I passed my driving test when I was 17.   It was a very old car, built in 1959, the first year they came off the production line.  It had the starter button on the floor, sliding windows, and the battery was in the boot.  It was light blue, and I went everywhere in it.   My second and third cars were also old style minis.    Many years later, in 2004, I bought myself a bright yellow modern Mini Cooper.

Who taught you to ride a bike? How did it go?

We lived in Singapore when I was 5, and I got my first two-wheeler for Christmas there.  It was a metallic turquoise colour. We lived on a slight hill, and I remember my father running alongside me.  I had two stabilisers for ages, then graduated to just one, then finally none.  I don’t ever remember falling off, so I probably never went that fast.

img_6605

Ugly and rich or beautiful and poor?

Well, as no-one can ever change how you look, I don’t see any point in thinking about things that can’t come true.    To some extent, being rich is very individual, some people might only require an extra £25 a week to feel much better off, whereas others might think they would only be rich is they had several million pounds.  For me, I’d of course rather be rich.

What was the first dish you could cook?

I learnt a lot from my mum, and used to bake cakes and biscuits from an early age.  I was quite good at pastry too, and remember making apple pies when I was quite young.

img_6606

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful that all our travel plans went well last week, and our journey from Greece to U.K. went without a hitch.  In the forthcoming week, I’m looking forward to settling in to my winter abode, and making ourselves comfortable here.

5 thoughts on “Share Your World – apple pie, a mini car and a blue bicycle.

  1. I had a mini cooper. it was my second car. dark green, started on the floor. LOVED that silly car. Dad bought it from the English Ambassador’s attache. I drove that thing for ten years.

    Liked by 1 person

Please comment....

