Share Your World – can you answer these questions?

It’s time to Share Your World again!

I wonder what the questions will be, this week?  Why not click below and have  look……

If you wanted to de-clutter where you live, what room / space would you start with? (And why, if you’re feel like admitting to it.)

As I have moved house over 40 times, I don’t think I’ve got much clutter, compared to some people. I moved again recently – we have been living on our boat in Greece over the summer, but recently have come back to the UK for the winter and have returned to my rental property which was vacated recently.

image

We had just a few boxes in storage, mostly bedding, winter clothes, books, kitchen stuff etc, and had to buy some second hand furniture. This afternoon I finished unpacking the last of the few boxes, which contained some old photos, birthday cards given to me by my children, and other keepsakes which I can never throw away.

image

If you want to remember something important, how do you do it (sticky note on the fridge, string around your finger, etc.), and does it work?

I’ve got quite a good memory, and if it was really important I think I would remember it without any help. Sticky notes are good for things like ‘make a dentist appointment’ or ‘buy some stamps’, and I would stick these on the kitchen worktop. I would never tie string round my finger.

If you could create a one room retreat just for yourself, what would be the most important sense to emphasize: sight (bright natural light, dim light, etc.), hearing (silence, music, fountain, etc.), smell (candles, incense, etc), touch (wood, stone, soft fabrics, etc.), or taste (herbal tea, fresh fruit, etc.)?

I think something from each of these senses would be important if I was designing my own retreat. I would like dim light, burgundy walls and furniture and rugs with soft fabrics, plus gold accessories like cushions or throws. I do like the smell of incense in a room. Taste? I don’t think I would bring food into my little retreat, instead I would have a separate, fabulous kitchen where I would do my cooking and eat it there. So to answer the question, I think the sense of touch is very important. If I needed inspiration I could walk round my room and touch the fabrics, the ornaments, the cushions, and feel the pile of the carpet between my toes.

Here are some rooms that I like….

If you could interview one of your great-great-great grandparents, who would it be (if you know their name) and what would you ask?

I’m afraid I have no idea about who these relatives of mine would be. I never knew my grandparents on my mother’s side. My paternal grandparents died when I was around 11. Maybe one day I will get round to researching my family history.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful that all my family is in good health, and I’m looking forward to this continuing into next week.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Share Your World – can you answer these questions?

  1. Very interesting. I like your ‘retreat’. Mine would have to have an area with good light so that I can read. A dimly lit area for watching tv would be good too. I need to de-clutter my bedroom. Hopefully tomorrow!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 40 times is no mean task. I have moved a lot but not that many. There is a secret to de-cluttering which you must have a natural ability for – I start with the easiest room to declutter first. It doesn’t take long to make it look good and I feel I have achieved. Then the next easiest room – until I start getting into a system. Ending with the most difficult when I know exactly what I am doing.

    Like

  3. I would like to interview my great great grandad, a chap who’s first name was Fountain (who ironically drowned around the age of 40). I’ve had a squint at some of my family tree and know he had about 12 children with my great great gran (who’s maiden surname was Slaughter!)

    Like

Please comment....

