A phone call, ponies, living in a bungalow and a house renovation ……

The following questions were asked by Cee in her Share Your World weekly theme.

What are you really glad you did yesterday?

I’m really glad I took ten minutes to phone up Jenny, an old friend of mine. She is actually old! I knew that her husband had died recently and she doesn’t like to make a fuss.  She hasn’t told all of her old work colleagues yet, and her husband didn’t even want a funeral, but they had a small ceremony with just Jenny and their two sons.  She is an amazing Irish lady, very intelligent, funny, perceptive.  She sounded really pleased to hear from me, and I promised to visit her very soon.

Processed with Snapseed.

Would you prefer a one floor house or multiple levels?

Well, as I spend a lot of time living aboard out yacht, any chance I have to live in any sort of house is always a treat.  I don’t really care how many floors it has, as long as there is a washing machine and a proper flushing toilet!   I have lived in over 44 different houses in my life.    The two houses I actually bought and chose myself both had two floors, but that was because one floor houses/bungalows are not easy to come by in the UK, they tend to be more expensive, and have a reputation of being loved by, and lived in, by old people.

 

image

Pretty shutters on a Greek house

 

Have you done something you truly want to do today?

I just bumble along and things get done.  I didn’t truly want to do anything in particular, but I’m quite glad that I moved my sewing desk, sewing machine and assorted paraphernalia upstairs to the spare room, so now the dining room looks a lot better and fit for purpose.

What plans did you have as a teenager that didn’t happen? Are you happy it didn’t work out that way?

When I was about 12 or 13 I really really wanted a pony.  I read everything I could about horses, collected china horses, wrote stories and drew endless pictures of horses.  I wanted to be a famous show jumper.  I eventually learnt to ride, and even went to a boarding school which had its own ponies, a cross country course and an indoor riding school, but I never owned one of my own.  Probably a good thing.   Horses are very expensive.

 

1919542_176705112034_1843355_n

Me at boarding school, with a horse!  Circa 1971

 

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I’m grateful for all the hard work my husband is doing on my house.  He has so far fixed electrics, mended things, put up outside lights, repaired woodwork and guttering.  There is still lots left on the ‘to do’ list.

img_2687

Sailing in Greece

In the forthcoming week, I am looking forward to meeting an old friend in Winchester, visiting my daughter and grandsons, and entertaining all my family when they visit at the weekend.  I’m also looking forward to going out with my husband tonight as it is our wedding anniversary!

6 thoughts on “A phone call, ponies, living in a bungalow and a house renovation ……

  1. Happy anniversary! I did manage to get a horse..an old childhood dream come true..and spent more money on the care and keep of that blasted animal! If I had just half of what I spent on him I could outright buy several houses and a sailing ship!

    Like

Please comment....

