I’ve solved a problem and am very pleased with myself…

“A Problem occurred with this webpage so it was reloaded.”

I use my iPad for everything, including adding new WordPress posts to my blog. Just recently, the WordPress ‘autosave’ function, which saves your draft every minute, seemed not be working. When I tried to do it manually, be clicking on the ‘save’ button, it just hung there, saying saving, but not doing anything. Eventually I had to leave the draft page after waiting three hours for it to save, but when I came back to it, it was still the same. So I moved to the clunky laptop, but it’s more difficult to manipulate my photos, and I couldn’t send iPad drafts to laptop as we don’t have an Office program since my husband accidentally deleted most things when he upgraded to Windows 10….

img_6796

Then another problem got worse on my iPad, which had been evident for several weeks while trying to write a WordPress blog post.  A message started appearing at the top of my draft screen, telling me that “A Problem occurred with this webpage so it was reloaded”. It was ok to start with, I just waited a minute for it to reload, and carried on. But now it was doing it continually, especially when I was trying to insert an image, and a few days ago it got to the point where I just couldn’t do anything to my blog.

img_6795

The WordPress forums were not helpful, so eventually I typed that phrase into Google, and bingo! Two minutes later I fixed the problem. I was directed to https://discussions.apple.com/ And it seemed that all I had to do was delete the ‘history’ on my IPad, turn it off then on again, and I was in business!

img_6799

So I’m feeling very pleased with myself, and now I have a long list of blog posts waiting to be written, which are currently in note form as a Pages document on my IPad. Unfortunately, I have three children and two grandchildren visiting this weekend, so I’m afraid the blog will have to wait……

5 thoughts on “I’ve solved a problem and am very pleased with myself…

  1. It also saved my problem to a certain extent. I only use my iPad for browsing, not really for composing blogs, although I might make a quick comment on it now and again. I work otherwise on an apple comuter and also a microsoft – have the both of best worlds.
    However on the iPad I was also continuously getting that “a problem occurred with this webpage so it was reloaded” stuff. I followed instructions and cleared my history in safari. However bear in mind it clears all the cookies and passwords. I am permanently logged in to WordPress so had to enter my password afterwards, No big deal, just saying. Anyhow was glad to see I am not the only one with this problem. I only really use my iPad in the evening or when in bed. Otherwise it is all computer for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How exasperating! Applecare are brilliant aren’t they, and they are so good, when they speak to me anyway, at pretending they aren’t speaking to a complete numpty. 🙂

    Like

Please comment....

