Spread a little sunshine!

I’m a Sunshine Blogger!

Now, I know some of you experienced bloggers don’t recognise any blogging awards, or accept them, but as I have only been writing my blog for less than a year, I need all the help I can get, and I am really grateful to the 400 or so people who have bothered to follow me up to now. Yes, it does take a bit of time to write the answers and nominate people for the award, but I’m happy to do it as someone took the time to pass the award on to me.

img_6759

Recently, the lovely Suze at Obsolete Childhood nominated me for the Sunshine Blogger Award. I have no idea why she wanted to do this, clearly a weird woman, but I do think you should check out her blog and decide for yourself. It is fun to read and I love to follow her ramblings, and I know you would too. Thank you so much for the nomination, Suze!  My nominations are at the end of this post, see if you are on the list!

There are some rules to these awards if you get nominated……

Rules:

Thank the person who nominated you.
Nominate other bloggers who have blogs you really like. Can I suggest 5?
Ask the nominees 10 questions
Notify the nominees of their nominations.
Have fun!

I’m going to cheat a bit here – I’m using the questions that were answered by Suze, and asking you the same questions, but feel free to make up your own….

I love reading other people’s answers to questions – I’m a very nosy person! Here are my answers to the questions …….

1. What do you love about where you live?

I’m a bit of a nomad. I’ve lived in 44 houses in my life, so I don’t feel a strong attachment to anywhere that I’ve lived. I also live on our yacht for six months or more every summer, and we return to England for the winter months, although not always to the same place. Currently I live in Romsey, Hampshire. You can read more about thi historic old town here, but briefly, I love living here because the house is very central to the town, it’s only a ten minute walk to the shops, to the station, to the doctor’s, the library, and Waitrose supermarket. There are good transport links to Southampton and I am about an hour away from each of my children.

image

2. What’s your most cherished memory?

I don’t think there is one memory that I cherish, I have lots of them. But as my lovely dad died this year, aged 85, I remember fondly one of the last times we were together which was on his 85th birthday when a big family party was held in the garden, the previous August. It was a lovely day, Dad sat with his feet in the paddling pool, we had lots to eat and drink, and the children had fun on the slide.

 

3. What is your favourite holiday?

This question could mean – ‘what would be your favourite holiday if you could choose’. Or it could mean ‘what has been the best holiday you have had?’ I will answer it as the second alternative. In the year 2000 I took my 14 year old son to Australia on holiday with me for six weeks. The whole experience was wonderful, and I vividly remember our time in Sydney, visiting all the sights. We then hired a car and drove up the east coast to Brisbane, and then we flew to Cairns and went as far north as Port Douglas. While we were there, we took a trip on a boat out to the Great Barrier Reef, which was amazing. My son had a go at scuba diving, which he loved, and I snorkelled. I will never forget how clear the water was, and the huge variety of fish and marine life we could see, it was so clear it was like looking through the glass of an aquarium.

4. If you to move somewhere miles away where would you choose?

Oh my goodness, I’ve spent my whole life moving around, I’ve lived in many places abroad, as well as in England. I don’t really feel that I come from one particular place, and don’t have strong roots in one place. At my time of life, I don’t really want to move abroad again, I just want to be within easy reach of my children and grandchildren. If I could go somewhere far away but could guarantee coming back, I would like to take another road trip to Australia, but this time I would take my husband with me.

5. What’s your favourite movie and why?

I have several, but one I watched recently, which I hadn’t seen for many years, was Shirley Valentine. Lots of people have told me that I remind them of Shirley, who impulsively leaves her normal boring life and goes to Greece! Unlike Shirley, I didn’t fall in love with a Greek guy, but I did fall in love with Greece, and I have returned again and again.

image

Greek house

6. If you had to describe your blog in one sentence what would it be?

A personal journey, with posts to remind me of my travels, but also interspersed with photographic challenges, and general ramblings of things that happen my life.

image

7. What is your life’s motto?

img_6791

My motto!

 

8. What fictional character’s life would you like to have yourself?

Hard for me to answer, I don’t feel the urge to be like a make-believe person, but if you pushed me, maybe Lara Croft from Tomb Raider – Hahahaha!

tomb%20raider%20lara%20croft

9. Describe your best friend.

I have several really good friends, and I couldn’t pick one over the other, but when I was ten, my best friend at school was called Janet.   She was brilliant at netball. I remember she was off school for while while with glandular fever, and I really missed her. We passed the eleven plus exam and went to the grammar school, but I left after two years as my father was in the RAF and got posted to Cyprus.   Janet and I always kept in touch by letter, but we never met up again until many years later when she came to my engagement party.   Soon after that, she emigrated to Australia, as she was a nurse, and got offered a good job. She still lives there.  We still exchanged birthday cards and Christmas cards, but she wasn’t so good at technology, computers etc, so our contact got less and less. Just recently I found out that she had contracted throat cancer and has just undergone some serious radiotherapy and chemotherapy, at the same time.   She is very poorly, and I really hope she pulls through…..

10. What would you like to try that you haven’t been able to yet?

There are lots of things I would like to try. I would definitely do a parachute jump.  I would like to drive a very fast car around a race track.  I would like to have a go on a drum kit!

Here are my nominees for the Sunshine Blogger Award – do have a look at thes wonderful blogs ….

Ticker Eats the World – a blog about travel, food, books, film, photography

Fattymccupcakes – rants, ramblings and regrets

Where there’s a Jill there’s a way – A jaunt around the little challenges which life chucks at us.

Our French Oasis – a well-travelled English family living in France

Suzie Speaks – a fabulous blog with loads of useful blogging tips

 

 

7 thoughts on “Spread a little sunshine!

  1. Ooh, thankyou for the nomination, and the sunshine. As an extremely new blogger I haven’t much of a clue of what’s what. It’s a good way of seeing what other people are posting. 🙂

    Like

Please comment....

