Art, shopping and goodbye to pumpkins…

Share Your World is here again!

image

What was your favorite subject in school?

I’ve been to more than a dozen schools, due to my father being in the RAF.  So my favourite subject was different depending which school I was at. When I was young, around 10 years old, one school I went to tuned in to a weekly radio programme for schools which was singing!  The radio presenters were the teachers!  I think it was just a ruse for the real teachers to put their feet up for an hour, but I really loved this lesson.

img_6860

At another school, I really liked Maths, as the teacher was fantastic.  I think the teacher has an enormous influence on what subjects you like.   I even liked Latin, solely due to the great teacher.  In my final school, I quite liked Art, as I was fairly good at it, even though the teacher was weird.

If you could have a servant come to your house every day for two hours, what would you have them do?

Good question!  Basic hoovering and dusting, I suppose.  I hate dusting so much!  I don’t mind washing and ironing though.  I’ve just thought of another servant I would like – a music teacher!  I’d like to learn to play the piano, or the saxophone.

img_6862

Where did you live when you were in the third grade of school? Is it the same place or town you live now?

I don’t know what age is equivalent to third grade in the UK.   Is it your third year at school?  The first year is called Reception Class here, I think they start the term before they are 5?  I guess the second year is year 1, which is age 6, the third year must therefore be when you are aged 7-8.  I’m giving my age away here, but I was coming up to 7 in the school year that started in September 1962.  We had returned from two years in Singapore that year, where I started school at age 5, and my father was then posted to North Weald, in Essex when I was 7.  We were only there a short while, then I moved to a new school Naphill, in Buckinghamshire.   I’ve never been back to these places, they are a long way from where I live now.   I must have lived in at least 30 houses since then!

In your opinon, list some places that are great for shopping?

I absolutely love shopping, so I am an expert on this question! In UK, the best department store, in my opinion, is thought to be John Lewis, which sells high quality and fairly expensive goods, everything from jewellery, furniture, clothes, computers and tv, to fitted kitchens   If I had lots of money, I would buy everything there.   They also own the Waitrose supermarket chain, which is regarded as selling the most superior, high-class produce, with excellent customer service.  Like other stores, you can also shop online at John Lewis, and Waitrose, and have the goods delivered to your door, or pick them up at your convenience. If you want a large, modern shopping centre, with the popular chain stores, including John Lewis, and restaurants all under one roof, I would head for West Quay in Southampton. If you prefer smaller, more individual shops, Winchester or Salisbury are quite good for that sort of thing.

img_6861

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I am grateful to have had all three children and four grandchildren visiting me at once.  It’s very hectic and noisy, but I love it when this happens.

img_6859

I’m looking forward to no more Halloween!   I’m fed up of seeing piles pumpkins in shops, tacky costumes, aggressive trick or treaters, decorations, recipes etc.   Next weekend it’s Bonfire Night here, so fireworks will be sold everywhere.

5 thoughts on “Art, shopping and goodbye to pumpkins…

  1. Oh, I remember wireless lessons. Especially ‘Music and Movement’ which I adored. My first school had only 2 classes – 5-9s and 9s -15s. I know that these wireless classes were essential for the two teachers (one of whom was my mother), and definitely not a chance to put their feet up. Nobody will ever convince me though that it’s possible to enjoy Maths.

    Liked by 1 person

Please comment....

