What’s cooking? Very easy slow cooker recipe – gammon joint.

I love my slow cooker.   Or as you in Trump country call it, a crock pot.

I’ve been experimenting and researching, to investigate what else I can cook in the slow cooker.   I normally use it to slow cook beef, chicken or lamb pieces.  Once I made some soup, and I have also made bolognese sauce.  But yesterday I excelled myself, and made the tastiest and easiest thing ever…..

I had bought a cheap gammon joint from a supermarket, and all I did was to put the whole thing in the slow cooker with a sprinkling of brown sugar.

img_6958

That’s it!  No liquid or any other ingredients needed!    You don’t actually need the sugar, but it does give the gammon a sweet taste.

img_6960

Just put it in the slow cooker, put the lid on, and leave it.   I always cook things for an hour on ‘high’, then turn it down to low for the rest of the time.  You don’t even have to be very accurate, you can smell when it’s cooked!

img_6972

I like my gammon joints to be sliceable, but you could leave it for longer and then pull it apart with a fork, as it will be really tender.

img_6973

I served our gammon sliced, with roasted butternut squash, green beans, and new potatoes.   And a delicious parsley sauce.   What did you have for supper?

img_6974

10 thoughts on “What’s cooking? Very easy slow cooker recipe – gammon joint.

  1. Love my slow cooker but mostly I use it for casseroles and have never thought of putting a gammon joint in there even though I often use it to roast chicken (just brown in the oven for 10 minutes if I’m not on the boat). Incidentally, do you soak your gammon at all?

    Liked by 1 person

Please comment....

