Best friends, cupcakes and submarines….

Share Your World

Cupcake alert!  Keep reading……

What do you value most in a friendship?

img_7251

University friends since 1988

I value people who accept you as you are. You don’t have to impress them. They share your trials and tribulations. When I went to university as a mature student, there were a total of about half a dozen ‘oldies’ amongst 40 youngsters. We stuck together, supported each other, understood each other’s difficulties in studying as a mature student with a home and children to look after, and have remained best friends ever since. I know I could call them up at any time and talk to them about anything.

Do you prefer eating the frosting of the cake or the cupcake first? Do you prefer a specific flavor?

Cupcakes are probably not so popular in England as they are in the States. We might have them on special occasions, and people even have them for their wedding cakes. Basically they are just a sponge cake with icing on the top. I would never go and buy a cupcake. When I was young, we used to call them fairy cakes, or butterfly cakes. I just like ordinary plain buttercream icing. The icing is so sweet, I can’t really taste other flavours.

img_7252

Traditional fairy cakes

Have you ever been in a submarine? If you haven’t, would you want to?

No, I haven’t. But I would like to experience it. I don’t know how much I would enjoy it, not being able to get into the fresh air for a long period. There’s the Gosport submarine museum  near us in Hampshire, where you can look round several ex-Navy submarines, but I’ve never been to that either.

img_7253

If 100 people your age were chosen at random, how many do you think you’d find leading a more satisfying life than yours?

Well, as I’m quite a pessimist, I would say quite a few. I envy people who have lived in one area, and one home for most of their life, and live close to their families, have a nice garden, grow vegetables, keep cats or dogs. I want to settle down and be like that. At the moment, I truly have absolutely no idea where I will be living this time next year, and I’m getting to the point where this worries me……

img_7254

That’s my sort of house!

 

Optional Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful I’m in good health, I can keep warm, I have food on the table, and can pay the bills.  I’m looking forward to babysitting for my grandsons next Friday.

4 thoughts on “Best friends, cupcakes and submarines….

  1. That house is so cute! I hope you find one like it. I’d like to visit a big submarine like that. Sounds so lovely with your friends, how wonderful to find such a group amongst the youngsters 💕💕

    Like

Please comment....

