I think I love you, David Cassidy – my teenage crush…..

Day 10 – 31 day Blog Challenge: ”my first teenage crush”

 

I was 16 years old, and in my final year at school.   I’m embarrassed to think about myself at that age, I must have been horrendous.  Horrendous dress sense. Horrendous hairstyle. Horrendous taste in music.   I had a really big crush on …….

David Cassidy!   He of the Partridge Family …. does anyone remember them?

img_7282

He just didn’t seem to fit in with that fake family – he was breath-takingly attractive, gorgeous hair and teeth, and the rest of them were so ugly.

I had posters of him all over my wall.

When he sang ‘Could It Be Forever’ I know he was singing it just for me.  I bought every teen magazine he was in, I entered every competition to win a day with David, and bought all sorts of memorabilia.  The highlight of my sad life at that age was when  I went to see him in concert at Wembley, London.  In those days there were no big screens, so you could see nothing sitting where I did, and you could hear nothing, due to the continual screaming of his adoring fans.  But I didn’t care, I was there, and I was breathing the same air as my David.

I don’t remember when my love affair with David ended.   Music of the 1970s developed quickly, and I loved all of it.   So David was cast aside, and I moved on to Marc Bolan and glam rock.    Sadly, Marc died in a car crash, and I was devastated.

Fairly recently, my first love, David Cassidy, tried to resurrect his career, after major problems battling alcoholism and bankruptcy.  He is now 66 years old, can you believe! He doesn’t look quite the same now, as he did when I thought I was going to be the future Mrs Cassidy….. I guess time catches up with all of us…….

img_7283

 

 

7 thoughts on “I think I love you, David Cassidy – my teenage crush…..

  1. Haha why is it looking back on our teenage years always induces cringing? My mom had a crush on David Cassidy too when she was younger. I never knew what he looked like until now!

    Like

  2. He was also one of my teenage crushes. He really was pretty gorgeous and, to be fair, still looks better when he smiles. But clean living seems to have suited my other crush Donny Osmond better.

    Like

  3. My best friend talk about nothing else so I accompanied her to see him in London at White City Stadium. It was a good day. The security team dispelled us all with water hoses and we walked so far to get to the train station but ended up in Fleet Street. We got a lift to Waterloo on one of the newspaper vans and were sat on piles bundles of them with ‘CASSIDY-MANIA’ front page headlines. We got the milk train home and didn’t get back to Southampton until 8am. I much preferred Marc Bolan – so much so that I still love the music of T-Rex – Sol

    Like

  4. I liked David Cassidy too, especially the song “I think I Love You”.
    He was v good looking wasn’t he? I saw him on tv, a couple of years ago I think, and thought he looked ok considering everything.

    Like

Please comment....

