My phobia – a nasty green insect….

My 31 Day Challenge – day 18 – “what Are you afraid of?”

When I was between the ages of 4-6, we lived in Singapore.

My father was stationed there in the RAF. He worked in the area preventative medicine and hygiene. I can remember that he used to be in charge of getting rid of nasty creatures in people’s houses, or RAF buildings. I remember he came to my school once with a team of men to remove a gigantic hornets’ nest from a tree.

Another time, I have this vague memory of him telling me he found a snake curled underneath the seat of a school toilet. Why did my parents let me attend this educational establishment that was clearly over-run with dangerous creatures?

img_7359

The classrooms were actually these rattan huts with no windows

I came home from school in Singapore one day, and on the dining room table there was a live scorpion in a plastic box. As well as having jars of all sorts of dead creatures in his office, my father had a mini ‘zoo’ at his workplace, where horrible live creatures waited to be collected and released. Once, when we were living in Cyprus, his department caught a new breed of snake which ended up in London Zoo as a ‘Cyprus viper’.

img_7360

One day I came into our house in Singapore, where above the door between the living room and dining room there was a grille. Tied to this grille, on a piece of long thread, and clinging to a small branch, was a large Hierodula membranacea. Have you guessed what it was? Yes! It was none other than a large Asian praying mantis! Bright green! I was fascinated! It stayed there for several days, until the most terrifying thing happened…….

img_7362

The praying mantis fell onto my head! I’m physically trembling now and my stomach is churning, writing this…..

I was walking underneath our indoor zoo, and the wretched thing fell off! into my hair! I was five years old, and hysterical, as you can imagine. This is how my phobia began. As an adult, I have rarely come across any more of the mantis family, except in zoos or pet shops, but now my fear has generalised to small locusts and grasshoppers. I hate the unpredictability of them, randomly jumping out at you. We see them quite a lot in Greece when we leave the yacht and go for walks in the countryside.

img_7363

There. I’ve admitted my phobia. I need to go for a lie down now!

 

3 thoughts on “My phobia – a nasty green insect….

  1. Pingback: Fifty things you need to know…. | Third Time Lucky!

  2. Pingback: Letters, shampoo, bedtime and a phobia …..Share Your World! | Third Time Lucky!

Please comment....

