Blue doors in Greece

For this week’s Thursday Doors I have found some lovely Greek blue doors for you….This photo was taken on the island of Skyros, which is one of the Sporades group, which also includes Skiathos, Skopelos and Allonisos.  Skyros is some distance from the other islands, and there is no ferry link from them, so it is a much more real ‘Greek’ island.  There is some tourism, but not the brash, holiday package type holidays, due to the fact that it takes some effort to get to Skyros.

pretty shop doors, in the chora

Skyros is a very beautiful island, and the hill town or ‘chora’ is well worth a visit.  Skyros is also well-known for its special breed of native ponies which live here.  There are very few herds of Skyros ponies outside of the island.

We sailed to Skyros on our yacht Fandancer from Samos, on our journey around the Aegean Sea.  Skyros was one of my favourite islands that we visited.  You can read about my other favourite Greek islands if you click here.

If you want to know why a lot of Greek buildings are blue and white, click here to read my post.

20 thoughts on “Blue doors in Greece

  1. These are a lighter blue than the ones I remember, but equally beautiful. In the mid-seventies when I was in Europe for almost a year, I was on Corfu, Mykonos, and Naxos. In the latter, I saw the most enormous lemons I’d ever seen, although I’ve since seen some that large in Arizona.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

Please comment....

