Would you eat octopus? Would you wear golden boots? Cee’s SYW

What is the most incredible natural venue that you’ve ever seen in person?

I visited the Great Barrier Reef in 2000, which was totally amazing.   We took a fast Catamaran from Port Douglas, but it still took about three hours to get to the reef.   My son did scuba diving, it was his 14th birthday.  I did snorkelling, and the minute you got into the water you were surrounded by coloured fish.    They gave you a laminated card with fish pictures on, so you could identify them.   The water is so clear, you can see for a very long distance. it’s like a gigantic home aquarium, but with bigger fish. U fortunately I don’t have any digital photos of our visit.

How many siblings do you have? What’s your birth order?

I am the oldest, I had a brother, Philip, who was two years younger than me.  Sadly, he died in 2014 after a very sad life from his teens onwards, and prolonged health problems.

img_0873

If you were a shoe, what kind would you be and why?

I would be a very flashy, ostentatious show-off shoe.  A bit like these gold boots…..

img_7103

What is the strangest/weirdest thing you have ever eaten?

It’s all relative  isn’t it?   If you lived in the Far East, you might eat insects in your everyday life, and you would think coloured candies would be weird.     I’ve lived abroad for a lot of my life, and have always tried the local food.  In Greece, we love to eat fried squid and boiled or roasted octopus.   But once we were given sea urchins as an accompaniment to a drink, which Indid try, but they just tasted of salty snot…..

Optional Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful to have made it through the week without any illness or accident befalling me.   I’m looking forward to house and pet sitting next week!   Our friends have a fabulous house with lots of high-tech gadgets I can’t wait to play with…….

These questions came from Cee’s Share Your World

 

6 thoughts on “Would you eat octopus? Would you wear golden boots? Cee’s SYW

  1. You are right. Weird is relative to where you live. My son lives in South Korea and his girlfriend sent us Ginseng candy for Christmas. They taste like cough drops but as I had a cold they were marvelous. I ate the whole bag in a day!

    Like

  2. I haven’t tried octopus or sea urchin. Octopus looks really rubbery to me. I’ve had sea urchin spines in my ankle (in the Grenadine Islands) which took about 4 months to work themselves out.

    Like

Please comment....

