Have you seen La La Land?

My review of La La Land…..


I knew there was singing and dancing in it, and I expected it to be more like ‘Hairspray’ or ‘Glee’, but is wasn’t really like that. A nice story about a wannabe actress and wannabe musician, who get together, find work, then go their separate ways. They think about how things might have been if things had turned out differently. The end. It would have been a perfectly good film without the spontaneous bursting into song. The opening scenes with cars on bridge, plus dancers, was excellent. Ryan Gosling was really good, and gorgeous.

img_8445

Was it worth all those Oscar nominations?   I think those who make these decisions were pleased to see a different genre of film for a change, a musical.   To my untrained eye, who knows what makes a good film into an amazing Oscsr winning film?  How do you judge someone’s acting quality?

img_8444

Ryan Gosling has starred in over 40 films, and Emma Stone a similar number, but I’m afraid I don’t consider any of them to be memorable, or big block busters.   You can tell how often I go to the cinema!    He is definitely going to remembered for La La Land.  One thing I did discover, according to Wikipedia, was that all the piano performance featured in the film was first recorded by pianist Randy Kerber during pre-production. Ryan Gosling then spent two hours a day, six days a week in piano lessons learning the music by heart. By the time filming had begun, Gosling was able to play all the piano sequences seen in the film without the use of a hand double or CGI.   He should be awarded some sort of trophy just for that amazing effort!

The theme song, ‘City of Stars’ features throughout the film, and pulls all the scenes together.

img_8446

7 thoughts on “Have you seen La La Land?

  1. Opening scene promised a lively Hollywood musical. For me it went downhill as soon as they all got back into their cars.
    I didn’t think that either of the lead actors could sing or dance very well. This surprised me as it is definitely promoted as a musical, and not as a Rom-Com.
    In my view the film is greatly overrated. I left the cinema totally underwhelmed.
    I’m waiting to see how many Oscars it wins! 😉

    Like

  2. I liked it! I think no-one would have said it was overrated if it had not been nominated for an oscar. I liked all the music it was catchy and even though I am not all for the cheesy romance stories I think they captured reality pretty well.

    Like

Please comment....

