Six Word Saturday….

Six Word Saturday

Thanks to Cate for this idea.    This roughly describes what I’m up to, today….

 

“….. making fancy pillows from wedding gown……..”

It’s not my wedding gown – I never had a flouncy posh wedding gown!  A colleague gave hers to me and asked me to make something.   This is what I’ve done so far….

img_8811

I’ve cut lots of six inch squares from the main fabric.   I’ve done some fabric manipulation techniques on some, to give them texture, and removed bits of lace and sequins from the bodice to add to other squares.

img_8813

I laid all the squares I’ve made on the floor to choose the best way to arrange them.

img_8826

I’ve sewed 24 squares together so now it’s the size of a pillow case.

img_8827

I’m trying to decide whether to add a frilled edge, made from some of the tuille underskirt material.  I haven’t attached it yet – I think it will be too flouncy.

What do you think?

12 thoughts on “Six Word Saturday….

  1. What an interesting idea! I never thought about re-purposing a wedding gown in such a manner! (Never had occasion to wear one myself…lol). From the crotchety old guy perspective, I would leave off the frilled edge… too, ummm, frilly!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. What a lot of work, but the effect is brilliant! No- no frill 🙂 My wedding dress was cream lace in handkerchief points, so wouldn’t adapt to this too well. I do sometimes give it a lingering look, though 🙂
    Georgie- can I just say that the link page for this challenge is not very obvious? If you click on the link at the end of my post it will take you to where you need to be. It says ‘you next’ and you copy your post’s url in there. Hopefully you will get more visitors that way. Cate has been a bit spasmodic with 6Ws lately so not as many take part or link up as used to do. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. These are beautiful. I shared with my friend who is currently making her daughters wedding gown. These pillows would also be lovely for ring bearer pillow.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My mum took the satin from her (size 1) wedding gown that she knew no one would be able to fit into and made satin pillows about 6″ x 12″ to sleep on. It seems a Hollywood star once swore that it prevented wrinkles. I don’t know if it was the satin or her good genes, but at 89 she still had lovely skin. I’ve just started using the pillow so I’m hedging my bets.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Pingback: Creative Juice #32 | ARHtistic License

Please comment....

