Do you like cooking?

I’ve just found the blog ourrandomview who provide a daily writing prompt.

Today they ask – “do you like cooking?”   And my answer is – a very big……

YES!

I like cooking very much.  We like quite spicy and flavoursome foods, so I frequently cook things with a lot of chilli, cumin and Indian spices, even in things like mince, to liven it up.

My favourite spice is RAS EL HANOUT, and according to Wikipedia, the name is Arabic for “head of the shop” (similar to the English expression “top-shelf”) and implies a mixture of the best spices the seller has to offer. Ras el hanout is used in many savory dishes, sometimes rubbed on meat or fish, or stirred into couscous or rice. The mix is generally associated with Morocco, although neighboring North African countries use it as well.  It plays a similar role in North African cuisine as garam masala does in Indian cuisine.

One of my favourite recipes using ras el hanout is a chicken and chickpea dish. You can find the recipe here.

IMG_8834

You can serve it with rice, or cous cous.

Another flavoursome recipe which I came across the other day was chickpea and mushroom casserole (I added cooked chicken) on the DeliciouslyElla website. Ella is a food blogger, whose recipes have really captured everyone’s attention, and she now writes cook books, has opened a deli, and appeared on TV.

I’m currently being very careful about what I eat, and have been trying the 5 2 diet.  I’ve lost 20 pounds in seven weeks!   So I have to be careful about choosing recipes to control the calories.   My main tip?  Use a smaller plate, and only have a very small portion of rice, cous cous or pasta.  Try some spiralizer vegetables instead!

IMG_8835

 

5 thoughts on “Do you like cooking?

  1. I think we have similar food tastes, i also like hot and spicy, and recently bought ras al hanout….how do you feel about cake? Well done on losing so much weight, now another hard part is keeping it off 🍰 🍰

    Liked by 1 person

Please comment....

