Living on a yacht is not all it’s cracked up to be…..

I’ve been back in Greece for a week now, and only in the last couple of days have I started to enjoy myself.  When I tell people (like the couple I sat next to on the plane) that I will be living on a yacht until mid-October, they look at me incredulously and think I must be some sort of millionaire who has never had to work for a living.  Nothing could be further from the truth!

scraping-the-bottom

Here’s me working hard, scraping off years of old paint…..

Fandancer was launched the day before I got back to the boatyard, and my husband had spent several weeks by himself working extremely hard to get her shipshape.  The major job included installing replacement batteries, as the old ones were almost seven years old and had outlived their usefulness.  He also had to squeeze into the tiny engine room to work on the shaft seal which connects the propeller shaft to the engine.  Additionally he had to install new seacocks, sanitation pipe, a bilge pump, as well as doing lots of general cleaning, deck scrubbing and hull polishing.  The last job was to apply new antifouling paint to the bottom of the yacht.

When I arrived on the boat, the first thing I did was make the bed with new fitted sheets I’d made back in the UK.   I also had to reorganise the lockers, as when we left the boat they were emptied and the contents put into storage bags.

The next day we had to put up the three sails.  I believe the correct term is ‘bending on the sails’, but however you say it, it is very hard work as she is an old boat with old fashioned heavy sails, none of this modern in-mast furling!

00_fandancer_a4_digital_img_6203

Half of my luggage that I brought out from the UK was made up of boat-related items, that Tim had ordered and had sent to me, including fender socks!  We are not rich enough to buy replacement fenders, so to improve the appearance of our ancient ones, we decided to try covering them in ‘socks’ which are made of thick fleecy material.

So we stayed on the boatyard pontoon for several days, before we started our summer sailing, but then when we eventually left, we only got as far as Lefkas, an hour’s motoring south…….

2 thoughts on “Living on a yacht is not all it’s cracked up to be…..

  1. You’re experience coincides with mine on many points.
    You don’t need to be rich, but you do need to be capable and diligent, not to mention be a jack of all trades because there is always something that needs to be done while living aboard.
    BTW, new paint on the hull looks great! Is it ablative?

    Like

  2. Pingback: Five Greek islands – sailing in the Ionian…. | Third Time Lucky!

Please comment....

