Cooking on board a yacht – Spag Bol for supper

Although we liveaboard our yacht Fandancer over the summer in Greece, we are not on a continuous holiday as some people may think.  Hey, I even have to wash my knickers in a bucket, so that’s definitely not something I would do on a holiday!

We often do eat out – probably more than we should considering our limited finances, but you’ve got to enjoy yourself sometimes, haven’t you? But we also cook on board quite a lot, to save the pennies.   Especially when we are in Lakka, on Paxos, as the tavernas tend to be on the expensive side, and there are no cheap gyros takeaway places here.

IMG_2191

So tonight I’m cooking my famous Spag Bol, using some fresh mince from the Greek butcher (VERY expensive, over twice the price of what I would pay in the UK) plus whatever is in the fridge, vegetable basket, and onboard larder.

Here’s a photo of the galley onboard Fandancer, to give you an idea of the small amount of space I have to work in…..

IMG_2906

The galley on board Fandancer

There is a  chopping board which fits over the sink to make an extra work surface. I’m used to the confined space, but I try to dissuade Tim from doing anything in the galley, as he tends to use every dish and utensil on the boat, and spreads things out to the companionway steps, the saloon table, and even the floor…..

First, gather your ingredients.  No need to weigh anything.  I like an onion, courgette, red or green pepper, garlic, chopped tomatoes, and fresh mushrooms if available.

IMG_2900

Ingredients for Spaghetti Bolognese

I like to add a pinch of chilli flakes while browning the mince….

IMG_2899

I like to ‘dry fry’ the mince in a pan to brown it, then remove it and drain it on kitchen paper to remove excess fat….

IMG_2902

Leave the mince to drain on kitchen paper while frying the vegetables

Some people leave out the mince draining stage, and just heave the vegetables into the same pan with the mince, but it’s up to you.

IMG_2901

Add chopped onion and garlic to the same pan, with 1tsp olive oil

Leave the onion to soften for five minutes until it becomes transparent.

IMG_2903

Chop the peppers and courgettes and add them to the pan

IMG_2907

Let all the vegetables soften in the pan

….when the vegetables have softened, return the browned mince to the pan.

IMG_2908

Add a tin of chopped tomatoes to the mix 

I like my sauce quite runny, so I add another half a can of water, with some tomato purée.

IMG_2909

Turn the heat to low, and bring to the boil.

Add salt and pepper to taste, and a good teaspoon of oregano.  I find a half teaspoon of sugar brings out the flavour of the tomatoes.  Simmer for about an hour.  It won’t spoil if you cook for longer.

Serve with spaghetti, or your choice of pasta.  Don’t forget some grated Parmesan to sprinkle over the top when serving!

IMG_2905

The galley on Fandancer

Enjoy your meal!  What’s your favourite meal to cook?

 

 

 

One thought on “Cooking on board a yacht – Spag Bol for supper

  1. Well done George! There really isn’t much space at all is there, so you cope well! That looks yummy. I think my favourite thing to cook is chilli con carne. I also like ham, mushrooms, peas, garlic and pasta in a creamy sauce. Creme Fraiche is fine, but cream is lovely! Yum!

    Like

Please comment....

